Chilean miners’ rescue shows strength of character and Faith

While I have admittedly spent little time thinking about the 33 miners who have been trapped for months more than a half mile below the surface of the earth, I was brought to tears this morning as I watched live footage of their rescue. Hearing of the stories of the efforts that were made by these 33 men who were blessed with the absolute faith that they would be rescued is inspirational in the purest sense.

Chile's President Sebastian Pinera, top center, cheers as rescued miner Mario Sepulveda, center, salutes after being rescued from the collapsed San Jose gold and copper mine near Copiapo, Chile, early Wednesday morning.

Mario Sepulveda, one of the first miners to emerge from the narrow rescue capsule said in recollection that, “I think I had extraordinary luck. I was with God and with the devil. And I reached out for God.” The collective understanding that they had to have Hope and Faith during their shared time in the mine is amazing, and offers a bit of clarity for me, as I often fail, even in generous times, to be truly thankful for all of the blessings in life.

I hope that as more people reflect on the immensity of the occasion that there is a renewed sense of the goodness in this world.

God Bless

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

